## Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

### Recommendations (9) adopted at the Fifth Consultative Meeting: Paris, November 18-29, 1968

Effective Date: May 26, 1972 for V-1 thru V-4, and V-9; July 31, 1972 for V-7 & V-8; November 1, 1982 for V-5 & V-6 [V-5 terminated by VIII-2]<sup>1</sup>

Note: Member State approval of recommendations marked with "x". Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Argentina AD: 5/12/1969	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	х
Australia AD for V-1 – V-4 & V-7 – V-9: 5/26/1972 AD for V-5 & V-6: 9/1/1980	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	x	х
Belgium <sup>2</sup> AD for V-1 – V-4 & V-7 – V-9: 7/31/1969 AD for V-5 & V-6: 1/25/1978	x	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	х
Brazil AD: 10/27/1986	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	х
Chile AD: 4/13/1970	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	х
China AD: 12/11/1985	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	х
Czech Republic AD for all approved: 4/23/2014		x	x			x	x		
France AD: 4/3/1969	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	х
Germany <sup>3</sup> AD for V-1 – V-4 & V-7 – V-9: 2/17/1981 AD for V-5: 4/28/2005	x	x	x	x	х		x	x	х
India AD: 3/7/1988	х	x	x	x	x	x	x		х
Italy AD: 4/22/1987	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	x	х
Japan AD for V-1 – V-4; V-9: 7/15/1969 AD for V-7 & V-8: 7/31/1972 AD for V-5 – V-6: 11/1/1982	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Korea, Rep. of AD: 5/10/1995	Х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	Х

# Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

### Recommendations (9) adopted at the Fifth Consultative Meeting: Paris, November 18-29, 1968

Effective Date: May 26, 1972 for V-1 thru V-4, and V-9; July 31, 1972 for V-7 & V-8; November 1, 1982 for V-5 & V-6

[V-5 terminated by VIII-2]<sup>1</sup>

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Netherlands <sup>4</sup> AD: 9/29/2003	х	x	x	х	х	х	х	x	х
New Zealand AD: 5/20/1969	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Norway AD for V-2: 7/18/1969 AD for remaining: 9/19/1969	х	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Poland AD: 7/11/1977	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x	х
Russia AD: 12/29/1969	х	х	х	х	х	х	Х	х	х
South Africa AD: 5/6/1969	х	Х	x	х	x	х	Х	x	x
Spain AD: 4/8/1988	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x
United Kingdom AD for V-2: 5/27/1969 AD for remaining: 3/11/1970	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
United States <sup>5</sup> AD for V-2 – V-4 & V-7 – V-9: 6/7/1969 AD for V-1: 10/14/1970 AD for V-5 & V-6: 7/31/1979	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Uruguay AD: 10/10/1989	Х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	Х

### Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

### Recommendations (9) adopted at the Fifth Consultative Meeting: Paris, November 18-29, 1968

Effective Date: May 26, 1972 for V-1 thru V-4, and V-9; July 31, 1972 for V-7 & V-8; November 1, 1982 for V-5 & V-6 [V-5 terminated by VIII-2]<sup>1</sup>

#### <u>Notes</u>

- 1. The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. Belgian notification of approval states that the Belgian Government approves Recommendations V-I, V-2, V-3, V-4, V-7, V-8, and V-9. The notification further states that the Belgian Government will not be able to give its approval of Recommendations V-5 and V-6 until so authorized by a specific law passed by Parliament.
- 3. Prior to unification, the German Democratic Republic approved all the recommendations of the Fifth Meeting on August 23, 1988.
- 4. For the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The notification includes the following: "With reference to Decision 3 of ATCM XXV, the recommendations/measures which have become obsolete (listed in Annex A of this Decision) [Recommendations V-1, V-8, and V-9] do not require further action by the Parties and as a consequence do not need approval."

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curação, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curação and Sint Maarten. Curação and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curação and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also

## Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

### Recommendations (9) adopted at the Fifth Consultative Meeting: Paris, November 18-29, 1968

Effective Date: May 26, 1972 for V-1 thru V-4, and V-9; July 31, 1972 for V-7 & V-8; November 1, 1982 for V-5 & V-6 [V-5 terminated by VIII-2]<sup>1</sup>

continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

4. United States notification of approval states that "on June 7, 1969 the Government of the United States of America approved Recommendations V-2, V-3, V-4, V-7, V-8, and V-9 and accepted Recommendations V-5 and V-6 as modifications of the interim guidelines for the conservation of Antarctic fauna and flora."

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.