Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (15) adopted at the Sixth Consultative Meeting: Tokyo, October 19 – 31, 1970 Effective Dates: October 10, 1973 for VI-1 thru VI-7 & VI-11 thru V-15; November 1, 1982 for VI-9; April 8, 1987 for VI-10 [VI-8 terminated by VIII-5]¹

Note: Member State approval marked with an "x". Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15
Argentina AD: 10/10/1973	х	х	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x
Australia AD for VI-1 – VI-7 & VI-11 – VI-15: 5/26/1972 AD for VI-8 – VI-10: 9/1/1980	х	х	х	х	x	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x
Belgium ² AD for all except VI-8 & VI-10: 6/8/1971 AD for VI-8 & VI-10: 1/25/1978	х	х	х	х	x	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x
Brazil AD for all except VI-8 & VI-10: 10/27/1986	x	х	x	х	х	x	х		x		x	x	х	х	x
Chile AD: 8/3/1971	х	х	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x
China AD for all except VI-8 & VI-10: 12/11/1985	x	х	x	х	х	x	х		x		x	x	х	х	x
Czech Republic AD for all approved: 4/23/2014	x		x		х	x	х			х	x	x	х		
France AD: 4/23/1971	x	х	x	х	x	x	х	x	x	х	x	x	х	x	x
Germany ³ AD for all except VI-8 & VI-10: 2/17/1981 AD for VI-10: 4/28/2005	х	х	х	х	x	x	х			х	х	х	х	x	x
India AD for all except VI-9: 3/7/1988	x	х	x	х	х	x	х	x		х	x	x	х	x	x
Italy AD: 4/22/1987	x	х	x	х	х	x	х	х	x	х	x	x	х	х	x
Japan AD for all except VI-8 – VI-10: 7/31/1972 AD for remaining: 11/1/1982	x	x	x	х	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Korea, Rep. of AD: 5/10/1995	х	x	х	х	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	х
Netherlands ⁴ AD: 9/29/2003	x	х	x	х	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x

Antarctic Treaty

Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

Recommendations (15) adopted at the Sixth Consultative Meeting: Tokyo, October 19 – 31, 1970

Effective Dates: October 10, 1973 for VI-1 thru VI-7 & VI-11 thru V-15;

November 1, 1982 for VI-9; April 8, 1987 for VI-10

[VI-8 terminated by VIII-5]¹

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15
New Zealand AD: 12/23/1971	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	x
Norway AD: 9/17/1971	х	х	x	x	х	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x
Poland AD: 7/11/1977	x	х	х	x	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	x	x	х	x
Russia AD: 4/4/1972	x	х	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
South Africa AD: 5/21/1971	x	х	х	x	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	x	x	х	x
Spain AD: 4/8/1988	x	х	х	x	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
United Kingdom ⁵ AD for all except VI-8 & VI-10: 6/25/1971 AD for VI-10: 4/8/1987	x	x	x	x	x	x	x		x	x	x	x	x	x	x
United States ⁶ AD for all except VI-10: 7/25/1972 AD for VI-10: 7/31/1979	x	х	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Uruguay AD: 10/10/1989	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x

Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (15) adopted at the Sixth Consultative Meeting: Tokyo, October 19 – 31, 1970 Effective Dates: October 10, 1973 for VI-1 thru VI-7 & VI-11 thru V-15; November 1, 1982 for VI-9; April 8, 1987 for VI-10 [VI-8 terminated by VIII-5]¹

<u>Notes</u>

- The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. The Belgian Embassy's note of June 8, 1971 states that the Recommendations have been approved "with the exception of recommendations VI-8 and VI-10. These latter will be submitted for approval after the Belgian Parliament has come to a decision concerning the draft law relating to the protection of flora and fauna in the Antarctic." [translation]
- 3. Prior to unification, the German Democratic Republic approved all the recommendations of the Sixth Meeting on August 23, 1988.
- 4. For the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The notification includes the following: "With reference to Decision 3 of ATCM XXV, the recommendations/measures which have become obsolete (listed in Annex A of this Decision) [Recommendations VI-15] do not require further action by the Parties and as a consequence do not need approval."

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also

Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (15) adopted at the Sixth Consultative Meeting: Tokyo, October 19 – 31, 1970 Effective Dates: October 10, 1973 for VI-1 thru VI-7 & VI-11 thru V-15; November 1, 1982 for VI-9; April 8, 1987 for VI-10 [VI-8 terminated by VIII-5]¹

continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

- 4. The British Embassy's note of June 25, 1971 states the Recommendations have been approved "with the exception of Recommendations VI-8 and VI-10 which require legislative action in the United Kingdom before they can be approved. Until such time as this legislation has been enacted instructions have been given to British visitors to the Antarctic Treaty Area to treat the provisions of these two Recommendations as guide lines."
- 5. The United States of America approved Recommendations VI-1 through VI-9 and VI-11 through VI-15; and accepted VI-10 as a modification of the interim guidelines.

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.