## Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (9) adopted at the Seventh Consultative Meeting: Wellington, October 30 – November 10, 1972 Effective Date: May 29, 1975 for VII-1 thru VII-3 & VII-6 thru VII-8;

June 24, 1981 for VII-4 & VII-9; February 10, 1988 for VII-5<sup>1</sup>

Note: Member State approval of recommendations marked with an "x". Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Argentina AD: 10/17/1974	х	x	×	x	x	x	x	х	x
Australia AD: 7/3/1973	x	×	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Belgium AD for VII-1 – V-4 & V-6 – V-9: 5/30/1973 AD for measure V-5: 1/25/1978	x	x	x	x	x		х	х	х
Brazil AD for all except VII-5: 10/27/1986	х	x	x	x		x	x	x	x
Chile AD for VII-1 – VII-3, VII-5, VII-7 & VII-8: 6/1/1973 AD for VII-6: 3/11/1975 AD for VII-4 & VII-9: 6/24/1981	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x
China AD for all except VII-5: 12/11/1985	х	x	x	x		x	x	х	х
Czech Republic AD for all approved: 4/23/2014				x		x	x	х	
France AD: 4/11/1973	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Germany <sup>2</sup> AD for all except VII-4, VII-5 & VII-9: 2/17/1981 AD for VII-4 & VII-9: 8/4/1983	х	x	x	x		x	x	x	x
India AD: 3/7/1988	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	х
Italy AD for all except VII-5: 4/22/1987	х	х	x	x		x	х	х	х
Japan AD for VII-1 – VII-4 & VII-6 - VII-9: 8/8/1974 AD for VII-5: 11/1/1982	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Korea, Rep. of AD: 5/10/1995	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	х

# Antarctic Treaty

## Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

Recommendations (9) adopted at the Seventh Consultative Meeting: Wellington, October 30 – November 10, 1972

Effective Date: May 29, 1975 for VII-1 thru VII-3 & VII-6 thru VII-8;

June 24, 1981 for VII-4 & VII-9; February 10, 1988 for VII-5<sup>1</sup>

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Netherlands <sup>3</sup> AD: 9/29/2003	x	x	x	х	х	x	х	x	х
New Zealand AD: 4/26/1974	x	x	x	х	x	x	х	x	х
Norway AD: 10/19/1973	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
Poland AD: 7/11/1977	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
Russia AD: 2/4/1974	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
South Africa AD: 5/22/1973	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
Spain AD: 4/8/1988	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
United Kingdom <sup>4</sup> AD for VII-1 – V-4 & V-6 – V-9: 5/29/1975 AD for V-5: 2/10/1988	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
United States <sup>5</sup> AD for VII-1 – V-4 & V-6 – V-9: 2/6/1973 AD for V-5: 7/31/1979	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
Uruguay AD: 10/10/1989	х	х	x	x	х	x	х	x	х

### **Antarctic Treaty**

## Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (9) adopted at the Seventh Consultative Meeting: Wellington, October 30 – November 10, 1972 Effective Date: May 29, 1975 for VII-1 thru VII-3 & VII-6 thru VII-8; June 24, 1981 for VII-4 & VII-9; February 10, 1988 for VII-5<sup>1</sup>

#### <u>Notes</u>

- The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. Prior to unification, the German Democratic Republic approved all the recommendations of the Seventh Meeting on August 23, 1988.
- 3. For the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba.

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

4. A note from the British Embassy dated May 29, 1975, states that the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland has approved all the recommendations of the Seventh Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting "with the exception of Recommendation VII-5 which requires legislative action in the United Kingdom before it can be approved. Until such time as this legislation has been enacted instructions have been given to those empowered by the Antarctic Treaty Act 1967 to issue permits, to consider

# Antarctic Treaty

## Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

Recommendations (9) adopted at the Seventh Consultative Meeting: Wellington, October 30 – November 10, 1972

Effective Date: May 29, 1975 for VII-1 thru VII-3 & VII-6 thru VII-8;

June 24, 1981 for VII-4 & VII-9; February 10, 1988 for VII-5  $^{\rm 1}$ 

Recommendation VII-5 as a guideline when issuing permits in accordance with Article IX of the Agreed Measures for the Conservation of Antarctic Fauna and Flora."

5. On February 6, 1973 the United States of America approved Recommendations VII-I through VII-4 and VII-6 through VII-9 and accepted Recommendation VII-5 as a modification of the interim guidelines for the conservation of Antarctic fauna and flora.

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.