# Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (9) adopted at the Tenth Consultative Meeting: Washington, September 17 – October 5, 1979 Effective Date: April 8, 1987 for X-2 through X-8; November 16, 1989 for X-1 and X-9<sup>1</sup>

Note: Member State approval of recommendations marked with an "x". Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Argentina AD: 6/23/1981	x	x	x	х	x	х	х	х	х
Australia AD: 9/1/1980	x	x	x	х	x	х	х	х	х
Belgium AD: 5/26/1981	x	x	x	х	x	х	х	х	х
Brazil AD for all except X-1 and X-7: 5/22/1987 AD for X-1 & X-7: 5/22/1989	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x
Chile AD: 6/24/1981	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	x
China AD: 12/17/1987	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x
Czech Republic AD for all approved: 4/23/2014	x	x	x					х	
France AD for X-1 – X-8: 6/3/1985 AD for X1 and X-9: 11/16/1989	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Germany <sup>2</sup> AD: 8/4/1983	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
India AD for all except X1 and X-9: 3/7/1988		x	x	x	x	x	х	x	
Italy AD for all except X1 and X-9: 4/22/1987		x	x	х	x	x	х	х	
Japan AD: 5/26/1981	х	x	x	х	x	х	х	х	х
Korea, Rep. of AD: 5/10/1995	х	x	x	х	x	х	х	х	х
Netherlands <sup>3</sup> AD: 9/29/2003	x	x	x	х	x	х	х	х	х
New Zealand AD: 6/4/1981	x	x	x	х	х	х	х	х	х

### Antarctic Treaty

#### Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

Recommendations (9) adopted at the Tenth Consultative Meeting: Washington, September 17 – October 5, 1979

Effective Date: April 8, 1987 for X-2 through X-8;

November 16, 1989 for X-1 and X-9<sup>1</sup>

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
Norway AD: 5/28/1982	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Poland AD: 6/15/1981	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Russia AD: 6/3/1982	x	x	х	х	x	x	х	х	х
South Africa AD: 12/29/1980	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Spain AD: 4/8/1988	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
United Kingdom AD: 4/8/1987	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
United States AD: 6/29/1981	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Uruguay AD: 10/10/1989	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х

### <u>Notes</u>

- The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. Prior to unification, the German Democratic Republic approved all the recommendations of the Tenth and Eleventh Meetings on August 23, 1988.
- For the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The notification includes the following: "With reference to Decision 3 of ATCM XXV, the recommendations/measures which have become obsolete (listed in Annex A of this Decision) [Recommendations X-9 and XI-2] do not require further action by the Parties and as a consequence do not need approval."

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

# Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (9) adopted at the Tenth Consultative Meeting: Washington, September 17 – October 5, 1979 Effective Date: April 8, 1987 for X-2 through X-8; November 16, 1989 for X-1 and X-9<sup>1</sup>

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.