# **Antarctic Treaty**

# Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

# Recommendations (8) adopted at the Twelfth Consultative Meeting: Canberra, September 13-27, 1983

Effective Date: April 27, 2004<sup>1</sup>

Note: Member State approval of recommendations marked with an "x". Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8
Argentina AD: 10/19/1984	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Australia AD: 3/21/1985	х	x	x	х	х	х	х	х
Belgium AD: 12/11/1986	х	х	x	х	х	x	х	х
Brazil AD for all except XII-3 & XII-8: 5/22/1987 AD for remaining: 5/22/1989	x	х	x	х	х	х	х	x
Chile AD: 7/22/1988	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
China AD: 12/17/1987	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	х
Czech Republic AD for all approved: 4/23/2014	х	x				х	х	х
France AD: 11/16/1989	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Germany <sup>2</sup> AD: 7/9/1985	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
India AD: 4/27/2004	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Japan AD: 6/17/1985	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Korea, Rep. of AD: 5/10/1995	х	х	x	x	x	х	х	х
Netherlands <sup>3</sup> AD: 9/29/2003	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
New Zealand AD: 6/26/1985	х	х	Х	х	х	х	х	Х
Norway AD: 6/12/1985	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	Х
Poland AD: 10/5/1989	Х	Х	Х	х	Х	х	х	Х

#### **Antarctic Treaty**

## Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

## Recommendations (8) adopted at the Twelfth Consultative Meeting: Canberra, September 13-27, 1983

Effective Date: April 27, 2004<sup>1</sup>

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8
Russia AD: 2/24/1986	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
South Africa AD: 4/18/1986	х	х	х	х	x	x	x	х
United Kingdom AD: 4/8/1987	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
United States AD: 4/25/1985	х	х	х	х	x	x	x	х
Uruguay AD: 10/10/1989	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	x

#### Notes

- 1. The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. Prior to unification, the German Democratic Republic approved all the recommendations of the Twelfth Meeting on August 23, 1988.
- 3. For the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba.

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curação and Sint Maarten. Curação and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure

## **Antarctic Treaty**

## Signed At Washington December 1, 1959

## Recommendations (8) adopted at the Twelfth Consultative Meeting: Canberra, September 13-27, 1983

Effective Date: April 27, 2004<sup>1</sup>

of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curação and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

4. United States notification of approval states that "on June 7, 1969 the Government of the United States of America approved Recommendations V-2, V-3, V-4, V-7, V-8, and V-9 and accepted Recommendations V-5 and V-6 as modifications of the interim guidelines for the conservation of Antarctic fauna and flora."

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.