## Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (22) adopted at the Fifteenth Consultative Meeting: Paris, October 9 – 21, 1989 Effective Date: January 23, 2004 For Recommendations XV-14, XV-15, XV-20 and XV-21<sup>1</sup>

Note: Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

Figure note: The 22 recommendations in this Consultative meeti	na are broken up into two tables. 11 measures in each table.

Figure note: The 22 recommendations in this C	onsultative n	leeting ure bro	экен ир то с	NO LUDIES, II I	neusures in et			-		-	
Table 1: Recommendations 1 - 11	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11
State [AD = Approval Date]											ļ'
Argentina	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	x	х
AD: 10/23/1991	X	~	~	~	~	~	~	~	~	~	~
Australia	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
AD: 9/4/1991	Χ	~	~	^	^	^	~	^	^	^	^
Belgium	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
AD: 1/29/2004	Λ	^	^	^	^	^	^	^	^	^	^
Brazil											
AD: 9/1/1998	х	х	x	x	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
Chile											
AD: 8/14/1992	Х	Х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х
China											
AD: 1/26/1995	Х	Х	х	х	х	х	Х	Х	х	х	Х
Czech Republic											
AD for all approved measures: 4/23/2014		х			х						
Finland											
AD for XV-1; XV-3 – XV-13; XV-17: 4/2/1997	х	х	x	x	х	х	х	х	x	x	х
AD for all remaining: 6/18/1997	~				~						
France											
AD: 4/26/1995	Х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	x	х	x
Germany <sup>2</sup>											
AD for XV-1, XV-2, XV-5 – XV-7; XV-9 & XV-											
12 – XV-21: 6/13/1991	х	х			х	х	х		x		
AD for XV-4: 4/28/2005											
India											
AD: 1/23/2004	х	х	x	х	х	х	х	х	x	х	х
Italy		1									
AD: 2/11/1998	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x
AD for XV-2; XV-14 – XV-16 & XV-18 – XV- 22: 12/15/1997	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	х	x
AD for all remaining: 5/7/2004											
AD 101 all remaining. 3/ //2004		1	L	L	I	I	I	I	L		I

# Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (22) adopted at the Fifteenth Consultative Meeting: Paris, October 9 – 21, 1989

Effective Date: January 23, 2004

For Recommendations XV-14, XV-15, XV-20 and XV-21<sup>1</sup>

Table 1: Recommendations 1 - 11 State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11
Korea, Rep. of AD for XV-12 – XV-15; XV-17; XV-20 & XV- 21: 5/10/1995											
Netherlands <sup>3</sup> AD: 9/29/2003	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	х
New Zealand AD: 10/28/1991	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
Norway AD: 10/13/1993	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
Peru: AD: 11/5/2003	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	х
Poland AD: 10/18/1991	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
Russia AD: 6/19/2001	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
South Africa AD: 6/14/1995	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
Spain AD: 2/3/2003	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
Sweden: AD: April 7, 1994	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	x
United Kingdom AD for all except XV-3, XV-4, XV-8, XV-10 & XV-11: 4/27/1995	х	x			x	х	x		x		
United States AD for all except XV-1 – XV-5; XV-8 – XV-11 and XV-14: 5/9/1995 AD for XV-5, XV-8, XV-9 & XV-14: 5/6/1998					x	x	x	x	x		
Uruguay AD: 5/15/1995	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	х

# Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (22) adopted at the Fifteenth Consultative Meeting: Paris, October 9 – 21, 1989

Effective Date: January 23, 2004

For Recommendations XV-14, XV-15, XV-20 and XV-21<sup>1</sup>

Table 2: Recommendations 12 - 22	12	13	14	15	16	17	18	19	20	21	22
State [AD = Approval Date]											
Argentina AD: 10/23/1991	x	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
Australia AD: 9/4/1991	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Belgium AD: 1/29/2004	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	x
Brazil AD: 9/1/1998	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	x
Chile AD: 8/14/1992	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	х
China AD: 1/26/1995	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	х
Czech Republic AD for all approved: 4/23/2014	х	х	x	x	x	х	x	х		x	
Finland AD for XV-1; XV-3 – XV-13; XV-17: 4/2/1997 AD for all remaining: 6/18/1997	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	x
France AD: 4/26/1995	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	х	x	x
Germany <sup>2</sup> AD for XV-1, XV-2, XV-5 – XV-7; XV-9 & XV- 12 – XV-21: 6/13/1991 AD for XV-4: 4/28/2005	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	
India AD: 1/23/2004	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	х
Italy AD: 2/11/1998	х	х	x	x	x	x	x	х	х	x	х
Japan AD for XV-2; XV-14 – XV-16 & XV-18 – XV- 22: 12/15/1997 AD for all remaining: 5/7/2004	х	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x	x
Korea, Rep. of AD for XV-12 – XV-15; XV-17; XV-20 & XV- 21: 5/10/1995	х	х	x	x		x			х	x	

# Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (22) adopted at the Fifteenth Consultative Meeting: Paris, October 9 – 21, 1989

Effective Date: January 23, 2004

For Recommendations XV-14, XV-15, XV-20 and XV-21<sup>1</sup>

Table 2: Recommendations 12 - 22 State [AD = Approval Date]	12	13	14	15	16	17	18	19	20	21	22
Netherlands <sup>3</sup> AD: 9/29/2003	x	x	x	x	х	x	x	х	х	x	x
New Zealand AD: 10/28/1991	х	x	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	x	х
Norway AD: 10/13/1993	х	x	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	x	х
Peru: AD: 11/5/2003	х	x	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	x	х
Poland AD: 10/18/1991	х	x	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	x	х
Russia AD: 6/19/2001	х	x	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	x	x
South Africa AD: 6/14/1995	х	x	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х
Spain AD: 2/3/2003	х	x	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х
Sweden AD: 4/7/1994	х	х	x	х	х	х	x	х	х	х	х
United Kingdom AD for all except XV-3, XV-4, XV-8, XV-10 & XV-11: 4/27/1995	х	х	x	x	х	х	x	х	х	х	x
United States AD for all except XV-1 – XV-5; XV-8 – XV-11 and XV-14: 5/9/1995 AD for XV-5, XV-8, XV-9 & XV-14: 5/6/1998	х	x	x	x	х	x	x	х	x	x	x
Uruguay AD: 5/15/1995	x	x	x	х	х	x	x	х	х	x	x

## Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (22) adopted at the Fifteenth Consultative Meeting: Paris, October 9 – 21, 1989 Effective Date: January 23, 2004 For Recommendations XV-14, XV-15, XV-20 and XV-21<sup>1</sup>

#### <u>Notes</u>

- 1. The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. Recommendation XV-22 is not acceptable to Germany.
- 3. The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.