Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (13) adopted at the Sixteenth Consultative Meeting: Bonn, October 7 – 18, 1991 Effective Date: May 24, 2002 for XVI-10¹

Note: Member State approval of recommendations marked with an "x". Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

| State [AD = Approval Date] | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|----|----|----|----|
| Argentina AD for XVI-10: 8/4/1995 AD for all except XVI-10: 11/1/1995 | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | x | х | х | х | х | x |
| Australia AD: 6/7/1995 | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | х | x | х | х | х | x |
| Belgium AD for XVI-10: 10/24/2000 AD for all except XVI-10: 1/29/2004 | x | x | х | x | x | x | x | x | x | х | х | x | x |
| Brazil AD for XVI-10: 5/20/1998 AD for all except XVI-10: 9/1/1998 | x | x | х | х | х | х | х | х | х | х | х | х | x |
| Bulgaria AD for XVI-10: 5/5/1999 | | | | | | | | | | x | | | |
| Chile AD for XVI-10: 3/25/1998 AD for all except XVI-10: 10/6/1998 | x | x | х | x | x | x | x | x | x | х | х | x | x |
| China AD: 1/26/1995 | x | x | х | x | x | x | x | | x | | х | x | x |
| Czech Republic AD for all approved: 4/23/2014 | x | x | | | x | х | | | | x | х | x | |
| Ecuador AD for XVI-10: 11/15/2001 | | | | | | | | | | х | | | |
| Finland AD for all except XVI-1, XVI-12 & XVI-13: 4/2/1997 AD for remaining: 6/18/1997 | x | x | х | х | х | х | х | х | x | х | х | х | x |
| France AD: 4/26/1995 | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | х | x | х | х | х | х |
| Germany AD for all excepting XVI-4 & XVI-6 – XVI-10: 11/2/1992 AD for all remaining except XVI-10: 9/1/1998 | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | х | x | | х | x | x |
| India AD for XVI-10: 5/24/2002 AD for remaining: 1/23/2004 | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | х | x | х | х | х | x |
| Italy AD: 2/11/1998 | x | x | х | х | х | х | х | х | x | х | х | х | x |

Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (13) adopted at the Sixteenth Consultative Meeting: Bonn, October 7 – 18, 1991

Effective Date: May 24, 2002 for XVI-10¹

| State [AD = Approval Date] | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|----|----|----|----|
| Japan AD for XVI-10: 12/17/1997 AD for XVI-2 & XVI-11: 2/15/2012 | | x | | | | | | | | x | x | | |
| Korea, Rep. of AD for all except XVI-10 & XVI-12: 5/10/1995 AD for XVI-10: 6/5/1996 | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | | x |
| Netherlands ² AD for XVI-10: 3/18/1998 AD for remaining: 9/29/2003 | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x |
| New Zealand AD: 10/21/1992 | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x |
| Norway AD: 10/13/1993 | x | х | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | х | х | x | x |
| Peru AD for XVI-10: 3/17/1999 AD for remaining: 11/5/2003 | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x |
| Poland AD for XVI-10: 9/20/1995 AD for remaining: 5/20/2004 | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | х | x | x | x |
| Russia AD: 6/19/2001 | x | x | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | х | х | x | x |
| South Africa AD: 6/19/1995 | x | x | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | x | х | x | x |
| Spain AD for XVI-10: 2/18/2000 AD for remaining: 2/3/2003 | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | х | x | x | x |
| Sweden AD: 4/7/1994 | х | х | x | x | х | х | x | х | x | х | х | x | х |
| United Kingdom AD for all except XVI-4; XVI-6; XVI-8; XVI-9 & XVI-10: 4/27/1995 AD for XVI-10: 5/21/1996 | x | x | x | | x | | x | | | x | x | x | x |
| United States AD for all except XVI-4 & XVI-8 – XVI-10: 5/9/1995 AD for XVI-4; XVI-8 & XVI-9: 9/6/1997 AD for XVI-10: 5/6/1998 | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x | x |

Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (13) adopted at the Sixteenth Consultative Meeting: Bonn, October 7 – 18, 1991 Effective Date: May 24, 2002 for XVI-10¹

| State [AD = Approval Date] | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 |
|----------------------------|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|----|----|----|----|
| Uruguay AD: 5/15/1995 | х | х | х | х | х | х | х | х | х | x | х | х | х |

<u>Notes</u>

- 1. The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. For the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The notification includes the following: "With reference to Decision 3 of ATCM XXV, the recommendations/measures which have become obsolete (listed in Annex A of this Decision) [Recommendations XVI-13] do not require further action by the Parties and as a consequence do not need approval."

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (13) adopted at the Sixteenth Consultative Meeting: Bonn, October 7 – 18, 1991 Effective Date: May 24, 2002 for XVI-10¹

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.