## Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (4) adopted at the Seventeenth Consultative Meeting: Venice, November 11-20, 1992 Effective date: Not yet effective<sup>1</sup>

Note: Member State approval of recommendations marked with an "x". Article IX, paragraph 4, of the Antarctic Treaty provides that recommended measures "shall become effective when approved by all the Contracting Parties whose representatives were entitled to participate in the meetings held to consider those measures."

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4
Argentina	x	х	х	х
AD: 8/2/1995	^	^	^	^
Australia	x	х	х	x
AD: 6/7/1995	~	~	~	~
Belgium	x	х	х	x
AD: 1/29/2004	~	~	Λ	~
Brazil	x	х	х	x
AD: 9/3/1997	^	~	~	^
Chile	x	x	х	x
AD: 10/6/1998	^	~	~	^
China	x	x	х	x
AD: 5/4/2004	~	~	~	~
Czech Republic	x		х	x
AD for all approved: 4/23/2014	~		Λ	~
Ecuador				
Recommendations not approved				
Finland				
Except XVII-1 & XVII-4: 4/2/1997	х	х	х	х
XVII-1 & XVII & XVII-4: 6/18/1997				
France	x	х	х	х
AD: 4/26/1995				
Germany				
AD except XVII-2 & XVII-3: 12/15/1993	x	х	Х	х
AD for XVII-2 & XVII-3: 4/28/2005				
India		х	х	х
AD: 1/23/2004				
Italy AD: 2/11/1998		х	х	х
Japan			х	
AD for only XVII-3: 2/15/2012				
Korea, Rep. of AD for all except XVII-1: 5/10/1995		х	х	х
Netherlands <sup>2</sup>				
AD: 9/29/2003	х	х	х	х
AD. 3/23/2003				

## Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (4) adopted at the Seventeenth Consultative Meeting: Venice, November 11-20, 1992 Effective date: Not yet effective<sup>1</sup>

State [AD = Approval Date]	1	2	3	4
New Zealand AD: 3/24/1994	x	х	х	х
Norway AD: 10/13/1993	x	х	х	х
Peru AD: 11/5/2003	x	х	х	x
Poland AD: 5/20/2004	x	х	х	х
Russia AD: 6/19/2001	x	х	х	х
South Africa AD: 6/14/1995	x	х	х	х
Spain AD: 2/3/2003	x	х	х	х
Sweden AD: 4/7/1994	x	х	х	х
United Kingdom AD: 4/27/1995	x	x	х	x
United States AD: 5/9/1995	x	х	х	х
Uruguay AD: 5/15/1995	x	х	х	x

## <u>Notes</u>

- The date of the Government's approval is considered to be the date of that Government's notification of such approval to other Governments, unless stated otherwise therein. If the notification states that the Government had approved the Measure on an earlier date; that date is listed as the date of the Government's approval.
- 2. For the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba.

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

## Antarctic Treaty Signed At Washington December 1, 1959 Recommendations (4) adopted at the Seventeenth Consultative Meeting: Venice, November 11-20, 1992 Effective date: Not yet effective<sup>1</sup>

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

"With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."

Department of State, Washington, April 3, 2015.