NATO Agreement on the Communication of Technical Information for Defence Purposes

Done: Brussels; October 19, 1970

Entry into force: February 7, 1971
In accordance with Article VIII, instruments of ratification or approval of the Agreement shall be deposited with the Government of the United States of America. The Agreement entered into force 30 days after deposit by two signatory Parties of their instruments of ratification or approval. The Agreement shall enter into force for each of the other signatory Parties 30 days after the deposit of its instrument of ratification or approval.

Legend: (no mark) = ratification; \mathbf{A} = acceptance; $\mathbf{A}\mathbf{A}$ = approval; \mathbf{a} = accession; \mathbf{w} = withdrawal or equivalent action

Participant	Signature	Consent to be bound		Entry into Force	Other Action	Notes
Albania		August 23, 2010	a	September 22, 2010		
Belgium	October 19, 1970	December 3, 1971		January 2, 1972		
Bulgaria		October 22, 2004	AA	November 21, 2004		
Canada	October 19, 1970	October 20, 1970		February 7, 1971		
Croatia		May 5, 2010	AA	June 4, 2010		
Czech						
Republic		October 31, 2000	a	November 30, 2000		
Denmark	October 19, 1970	November 10, 1971	AA	December 10, 1971		
Estonia		February 9, 2005	AA	March 11, 2005		
Finland		March 28, 2024	Α	April 27, 2024		
France	October 19, 1970	April 4, 1972		May 4, 1972		1
Germany	October 19, 1970	July 24, 1972		August 23, 1972		
Greece	October 19, 1970	February 2, 1972		March 3, 1972		
Hungary		January 21, 2000	a	February 20, 2000		
Iceland						
Italy	October 19, 1970	July 25, 1974		August 24, 1974		
Latvia		September 22, 2004	AA	October 22, 2004		
Lithuania		September 22, 2004		October 22, 2004		
Luxembourg	October 19, 1970	September 26, 2007		October 26, 2007		
Montenegro		March 27, 2018	a	April 26, 2018		
Netherlands	October 19, 1970	August 19, 1971		September 18, 1971		2
North						
Macedonia		October 20, 2021	a	November 19, 2021		
Norway	October 19, 1970	July 6, 1972		August 5, 1972		
Poland		September 21, 1999		October 21, 1999		
Portugal	October 19, 1970					
Romania		August 4, 2005	a	September 3, 2005		

Slovak					
Republic		September 13, 2004	AA	October 13, 2004	
Slovenia		September 28, 2004		October 28, 2004	
Spain		August 10, 1987	a	September 9, 1987	
Turkiye	October 19, 1970	October 27, 1972		November 26, 1972	
United					
Kingdom	October 19, 1970	October 28, 1971		November 27, 1971	
United States	October 19, 1970	January 8, 1971	AA	February 7, 1971	

¹ Signature of the Agreement by France included a statement, an English translation of which follows:

"The adherence of France to this Agreement should not be regarded in any way as modifying the position taken by this country vis-à-vis the integrated Military Organization of the Atlantic Alliance, as set out in the Aide-Mémoire of the French Government of 8th and 10th March, 1966, addressed to the fourteen other members of the Alliance."

 2 The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by the Netherlands states that the ratification is for the Kingdom in Europe, Suriname and the Netherlands Antilles.

Suriname became an independent state on November 25, 1975.

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated January 9, 1986, which reads as follows:

"The Royal Netherlands Embassy presents its compliments to the Department of State and has the honor to request the Department's attention for the following with respect to the Department's capacity of depositary of [the NATO Agreement on the Communication of Technical Information for Defence Purposes].

"Effective January 1, 1986 the island of Aruba – formerly part of the Netherlands Antilles – obtained internal autonomy as a country within the Kingdom of The Netherlands. Consequently the Kingdom of The Netherlands as of January 1, 1986 consists of three countries, to wit: the Netherlands proper, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba.

"Since the abovementioned event concerns only a change in internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of The Netherlands, and as the Kingdom as such, under international law, will remain the subject with which treaties are concluded, the aforementioned change will have no consequences in international law with regard to treaties concluded by the Kingdom, the application of which (treaties) were extended to the Netherlands Antilles, including Aruba.

"These treaties, thus, will remain applicable for Aruba in its new status as autonomous country within the Kingdom of The Netherlands effective January 1, 1986.

"Consequently the [Agreement] to which the Kingdom of the Netherlands is a Party, and which [has] been extended to the Netherlands Antilles will as of January 1, 1986 apply to all three countries of the Kingdom of The Netherlands. "The Embassy would appreciate if the other Parties concerned would be notified of the above.

"The Royal Netherlands Embassy avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Department of State the assurance of its highest consideration."

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. "With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."