Protocol on the Status of International Military Headquarters Set Up Pursuant to the North Atlantic Treaty

Done: Paris; August 28, 1952

Entry into force: April 10, 1954

In accordance with Article 16, paragraph 1 of the Protocol (referencing *inter alia* Article XVIII of the 1951 NATO Status of Forces Agreement), instruments of ratification of the Protocol shall be deposited with the Government of the United States of America. The Protocol entered into force between the signatory States which had ratified it thirty days after four of the signatory States deposited their instruments of ratification and the Protocol came into force for each other signatory State thirty days after the deposit of its instrument of ratification.

After its entry into force, the Protocol shall, subject to the approval of the North Atlantic Council and to such conditions as it may decide, be open to accession on behalf of any State that accedes to the North Atlantic Treaty. Accession to the Protocol shall be effected by the deposit of an instrument of accession with the Government of the United States of America. The Protocol shall come into force for each acceding State thirty days after the date of deposit of its instrument of accession.

Participant	Signature	Consent to be bound		Entry into Force	Other Action	Notes
Albania		April 9, 2009	a	May 9, 2009		
Belgium	August 28, 1952	March 11, 1954		April 10, 1954		1
Bulgaria		October 4, 2004	a	November 3, 2004		
Canada	August 28, 1952	August 23, 2023		September 22, 2023		
Croatia		September 22, 2009	a	October 22, 2009		
Czech						
Republic		October 31, 2000	a	November 30, 2000		
Denmark	August 28, 1952	May 28, 1955		June 27, 1955		
Estonia		November 26, 2004	a	December 26, 2004		
Finland		March 28, 2024	a	April 27, 2024		
France	August 28, 1952	January 20, 1955		February 19, 1955	W	2
		August 12, 2016		September 11, 2016		
Germany		November 21, 1969	a	December 21, 1969		
Greece	August 28, 1952	July 26, 1954		August 25, 1954		
Hungary		January 21, 2000	a	February 20, 2000		
Iceland	August 28, 1952	May 11, 1953		April 10, 1954		
Italy	August 28, 1952	December 22, 1955		January 21, 1956		
Latvia		August 2, 2004	a	September 1, 2004		
Lithuania		July 21, 2004	a	August 20, 2004		
Luxembourg	August 28, 1952	July 23, 1954		August 22, 1954		3

Legend: (no mark) = ratification; \mathbf{a} = accession; \mathbf{w} = withdrawal or equivalent action

Montenegro		March 27, 2018	a	April 26, 2018	
Netherlands	August 28, 1952	June 22, 1954		July 22, 1954	4
North					
Macedonia		November 23, 2020	a	December 23, 2020	
Norway	August 28, 1952	February 24, 1953		April 10, 1954	
Poland		September 21, 1999	a	October 21, 1999	
Portugal	August 28, 1952	November 22, 1955		December 22, 1955	
Romania		November 4, 2004	a	December 4, 2004	
Slovak					
Republic		September 13, 2004	a	October 13, 2004	
Slovenia		September 28, 2004	a	October 28, 2004	
Spain		August 10, 1995	a	September 9, 1995	
Turkiye	August 28, 1952	May 18, 1954		June 17, 1954	
United					
Kingdom	August 28, 1952	August 3, 1965		September 2, 1965	
United States	August 28, 1952	July 24, 1953		April 10, 1954	

¹ The instrument of ratification of the Protocol by Belgium includes the Declaration, signed by Belgium,

² The Embassy of the French Republic, by a note dated March 30, 1966, and received on that same date, notified the Department of State of the denunciation by France of the Protocol, in accordance with Article 16, paragraph 1 of the Protocol and Article XIX of the 1951 NATO Status of Forces Agreement. Denunciation of the Protocol by France was effective March 31, 1967.

³ The instrument of ratification of the Protocol by Luxembourg includes the Declaration, signed by Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands at Brussels on June 20, 1953, which reads as follows:

"Before depositing the instruments of ratification of the Protocol of August 28, 1952 on the status of international military headquarters set up pursuant to the North Atlantic Treaty, the Plenipotentiaries of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands, make the following Declaration: "The nationals of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the present Protocol to claim in the territory of one of the aforementioned Powers any exemption which they do not enjoy in their own territory, with respect to duties, taxes and other dues, which have been or will be standardized under the terms of conventions which have been or will be concluded for the purpose of bringing about the Economic Union of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands."

⁴ The instrument of ratification of the Protocol by the Netherlands includes the Declaration, signed by Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands at Brussels on June 20, 1953, which reads as follows:

"Before depositing the instruments of ratification of the Protocol of August 28, 1952 on the status of international military headquarters set up pursuant to the North Atlantic Treaty, the Plenipotentiaries of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands, make the following Declaration: "The nationals of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the present Protocol to claim in the territory of one of the afore-mentioned Powers any exemption which they do not enjoy in their own territory, with respect to duties, taxes and other dues, which have been or will be standardized under the terms of conventions which have been or will be concluded for the purpose of bringing about the Economic Union of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands."

Luxembourg and the Netherlands at Brussels on June 20, 1953, which reads as follows:

[&]quot;Before depositing the instruments of ratification of the Protocol of August 28, 1952 on the status of international military headquarters set up pursuant to the North Atlantic Treaty, the Plenipotentiaries of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the Netherlands, make the following Declaration: "The nationals of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Kingdom of the present Protocol to claim in the territory of one of the aforementioned Powers any exemption which they do not enjoy in their own territory, with respect to duties, taxes and other dues, which have been or will be standardized under the terms of conventions which have been or will be concluded for the purpose of bringing about the Economic Union of Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands."