Date of most recent action: March 28, 2024

Agreement for the Mutual Safeguarding of Secrecy of Inventions Relating to Defence and for which Applications for Patents Have Been Made

Done: Paris; September 21, 1960

Entry into force: January 12, 1961

In accordance with Article VI, instruments of ratification or approval of the Agreement shall be deposited with the Government of the United States of America. The Agreement entered into force 30 days after deposit by two

signatory Parties of their instruments of ratification or approval.

The Agreement shall enter into force for each of the other signatory Parties 30

days after the deposit of its instrument of ratification or approval.

Legend: (no mark) = ratification; \mathbf{A} = acceptance; \mathbf{AA} = approval; \mathbf{a} = accession; \mathbf{w} = withdrawal or equivalent action

Participant	Signature	Consent to be bound		Entry into Force	Other Action	Notes
Albania		August 23, 2010	a	September 22, 2010		
Belgium	September 21, 1960	October 20, 1961		November 19, 1961		
Bulgaria		October 22, 2004	AA	November 21, 2004		
Canada	September 21, 1960	August 2, 1972		September 1, 1972		
Croatia		May 5, 2010	AA	June 4, 2010		
Czech						
Republic		October 11, 2000		November 10, 2000		
Denmark	September 21, 1960	November 15, 1961		December 15, 1961		
Estonia		October 20, 2009	AA	November 19, 2009		
Finland		March 28, 2024	A	April 27, 2024		
France	September 21, 1960	January 18, 1965	AA	February 17, 1965		
Germany	September 21, 1960	January 6, 1964		February 5, 1964		
Greece	September 21, 1960	August 15, 1963		September 14, 1963		
Hungary		January 21, 2000	a	February 20, 2000		
Iceland						
Italy	September 21, 1960	July 25, 1974		August 24, 1974		
Latvia		February 17, 2005	AA	March 19, 2005		
Lithuania		September 22, 2004		October 22, 2004		
Luxembourg	September 21, 1960	February 1, 1967		March 3, 1967		
Montenegro		March 27, 2018	a	April 26, 2018		
Netherlands	September 21, 1960	September 8, 1971		October 8, 1971		1
North						
Macedonia		October 20, 2021	a	November 19, 2021		
Norway	September 21, 1960	December 13, 1960		January 12, 1961		
Poland		September 21, 1999		October 21, 1999		
Portugal	September 21, 1960	May 11, 1965		June 10, 1965		
Romania		August 4, 2005	a	September 3, 2005		

Slovak					
Republic		September 13, 2004	AA	October 13, 2004	
Slovenia		September 28, 2004		October 28, 2004	
Spain		August 10, 1987	a	September 9, 1987	
Turkiye	September 21, 1960	February 20, 1962		March 22, 1962	
United					
Kingdom	September 21, 1960	October 13, 1961		November 12, 1961	
United States	September 21, 1960	December 8, 1960	AA	January 12, 1961	

¹ The signature of the Agreement by the Kingdom of the Netherlands was on behalf of the entire Kingdom. The instrument of ratification of the Agreement by the Netherlands states that the ratification is for the Kingdom in Europe, Suriname and the Netherlands Antilles.

Suriname became an independent state on November 25, 1975.

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated January 9, 1986, which reads as follows:

"The Royal Netherlands Embassy presents its compliments to the Department of State and has the honor to request the Department's attention for the following with respect to the Department's capacity of depositary of [the Agreement for the Mutual Safeguarding of Secrecy of Inventions Relating to Defence and for which Applications for Patents Have Been Made].

"Effective January 1, 1986 the island of Aruba – formerly part of the Netherlands Antilles – obtained internal autonomy as a country within the Kingdom of The Netherlands. Consequently the Kingdom of The Netherlands as of January 1, 1986 consists of three countries, to wit: the Netherlands proper, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba.

"Since the abovementioned event concerns only a change in internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of The Netherlands, and as the Kingdom as such, under international law, will remain the subject with which treaties are concluded, the aforementioned change will have no consequences in international law with regard to treaties concluded by the Kingdom, the application of which (treaties) were extended to the Netherlands Antilles, including Aruba. "These treaties, thus, will remain applicable for Aruba in its new status as autonomous country within the Kingdom of

"These treaties, thus, will remain applicable for Aruba in its new status as autonomous country within the Kingdom of The Netherlands effective January 1, 1986.

"Consequently the [Agreement] to which the Kingdom of the Netherlands is a Party, and which [has] been extended to the Netherlands Antilles will as of January 1, 1986 apply to all three countries of the Kingdom of The Netherlands. "The Embassy would appreciate if the other Parties concerned would be notified of the above.

"The Royal Netherlands Embassy avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Department of State the assurance of its highest consideration."

The Royal Netherlands Embassy in Washington transmitted to the Department of State a diplomatic note, dated October 6, 2010, which reads in pertinent part as follows:

"The Kingdom of the Netherlands currently consists of three parts: the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles consists of the islands of Curaçao, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba. "With effect from 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles will cease to exist as a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From that date onwards, the Kingdom will consist of four parts: the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten. Curaçao and Sint Maarten will enjoy internal self-government within the Kingdom, as Aruba and, up to 10 October 2010, the Netherlands Antilles do.

"These changes constitute a modification of the internal constitutional relations within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The Kingdom of the Netherlands will accordingly remain the subject of international law with which agreements are concluded. The modification of the structure of the Kingdom will therefore not affect the validity of the international agreements ratified by the Kingdom for the Netherlands Antilles; these agreements will continue to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten.

"The other islands that have until now formed part of the Netherlands Antilles – Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba – will become part of the Netherlands, thus constituting 'the Caribbean part of the Netherlands'. The agreements that now apply to the Netherlands Antilles will also continue to apply to these islands; however, the Government of the Netherlands will now be responsible for implementing these agreements."